From Gaga To Frick

February 1

Random thoughts on an extremely random sports day:

As I mentioned on the air, if you catch me watching more than five minutes of the Pro Bowl, summon a Life Coach for me. I keep tabs on it through highlights, but I can’t think of a bigger waste of time. Lots of players who backed out agree.

Ratings for the Pro Bowl were, however, the best in about a decade. It just proves that we’re addicted to football, any kind of football. Even if it’s just a step up from flag football.

Given the ratings, I know the game isn’t going away, but I think it should be canceled. It’s the biggest joke among all the All-Star games. How about just naming the All-Pro squad and let them play Madden against each other?

Matt Maoicco of the Press Democrat had an amazing stat Friday: because of the injuries, disinterest, and players involved in the Super Bowl, 1 out of every 13 active players can claim to be a Pro Bowler.

In a related story, one out of every 10 active Americans could claim to be a member of the Dave Matthews Band last night. Did you see how many people he had for the performance of “You and Me” during the Grammys show? They were practically spilling off the stage.

I know what you’re thinking. Won’t watch the Pro Bowl but will watch the Grammys? I think I earn a pass, because this can be filed under the category of maintaining marital bliss.

I learned many things at the Grammys last night; Lady Gaga can actually sing and play piano, in a duet with Elton John that certainly blurred sexual lines. It would have been great if Marilyn Manson and K.D. Lang could have joined in. The music.

I also learned that Pink is a hell of an acrobat. I don’t really know if she can sing, because everybody auto-tunes these days, but she seems to have real talent, and she did a great impersonation of a Rain Bird, splashing water around while being spun in a sling above the audience. If you had a $5,000 Vera Wang dress on I’m sure you appreciated getting wet. Yes.

I learned that pop music isn’t complete crap, but it’s definitely more about the performance and bells and whistles, than it is about the heart and soul of music. Pop music has always been formulaic, but creativity seems more scarce than ever. Having said that, I actually did enjoy the show last night.

Taylor Swift seems to have real talent, real humanity, and writes her own songs. And Kanye West was nowhere in sight last night. Now, will Swift go down Faith Hill Highway or Britney Spears Avenue?

Loved the Michael Jackson “Earth” rendition with the voice of Michael accompanied by a rather motley crue that included everything but Motley Crue. You had Carrie Underwood, Usher, Celine Dion, Jennifer Hudson and Smokey Robinson. But they pulled it off, beautifully done.

Beyonce continues to dominate with six Grammys. Jay Z continues to rule all he surveys. I didn’t know who the Zac Brown Band was until last night. And I know how to get a Grammy now: host the show. Congrats, Stephen Colbert.

Also congratulations to Jon Miller, winner of the 2010 Ford C. Frick Award, meaning he’ll go into the broadcasters wing of the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown this July. It’s a well-deserved honor for one of the top play-by-play guys I’ve ever heard, as well as one of the best storytellers.

There’s nobody better when a game is already out of hand and there’s time to fill, and no one has a better grasp of baseball’s rules. Some critics say he tends to get too wordy and is in love with the sound of his own voice — frankly, I could listen to him for hours, and often do. The Giants have some shortcomings as an organization, but their broadcast crew is not one of them.

I can’t wait for Miller’s induction speech.

Miller joins the likes of Lon Simmons and Russ Hodges in the Hall. Now it’s time to get Bill King in. I know he might have been passed up because he was active in three sports, but a great broadcaster is a great broadcaster. I only got to hear King for a few years in the Bay Area, but I’m sold. He needs to be in.

2 Responses to “From Gaga To Frick”

  1. shawn ervin Says:

    Love you Ray, listen to you everyday with Uncle Gary on KNBR but I still think you are full of crap about not getting down with Kim Kardashian. Man up dude.

  2. raywood Says:

    Awww man. I know nobody believes me. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

